Fitness

6 Weeks Out: 4 Lean Protein Recipes!

So I am SIX weeks out from my first competition! That means diet is cutting down and becoming very, very strict. One of the things that my new diet includes is that I am only allowed lean meats – chicken and white fish mostly. Since I have to eat four meals of lean meats a day, this week, I did a different flavor for each meal.

And I thought I’d share them with you!

PicMonkey Image6

Being six weeks out, my meals have become primarily lean proteins and lots and LOTS of veggies. These proteins are either a white fish, like cod or tilapia, eggs, and chicken breast. Fish and chicken aren’t normally very flavorful, so I’m sharing with you how I make them yummy enough to eat twice a day, everyday for seven days!

Menu:

  • Meal 1: 4 full eggs and half a grapefruit
  • Meal 2: 4.5 oz chicken breast, 1.5 cups of asparagus, 35 g brown jasmine rice
  • Meal 3: 5 oz tilapia, 1.5 cups of green beans, 6 almonds
  • Meal 4:  4.5 oz chicken breast, 1.5 cups of green beans, 6 almonds
  • Meal 5: 5 oz tilapia, 1.5 cups of brussel sprouts, 12 almonds
  • Postworkout: 1 scoop of Rule 1 Whey Isolate Protein

This is roughly 1440 calories, 64 carbs, 47 fats, and 170 protein. On Wednesdays and Saturdays, my high carb days, I add a serving of steel cut oats and fruit throughout the day.

Changing up the Chicken!

So for my first chicken, I went with a seasoned chicken. Being 6 weeks out, I am also very low sodium to help lose that stubborn water weight. So I used the Weber Salt Free Chicken Seasoning and baked the breasts for 20 minutes at 400 degrees.

17357151_10155989155717907_1660153311_o

For my next chicken meal, I decided to have a bit of fun and make curry chicken! I used 1 tbsp curry powder, 1 tsp coriander, 1.5 tsp cumin, and 1 tsp onion powder. I added half a squeezed lemon to hold it all together and mixed! Caution: if you mix with your hands, be sure to wear gloves unless you’d like to have yellow fingernails!

17311453_10155989155677907_633897779_o

Tilapi-yum!

So tilapia has always been described to me as a very dirty fish. So to help with the flavors, I chose two of the simplest recipes: Lemon Pepper and Paprika.

The lemon pepper is super easy. Take 2-3 lemons and squeeze them over the tilapia. Add some lemon-pepper seasoning – I use the Mrs. Dash Salt Free Lemon Pepper. I add even more ground black pepper, just to give it an extra kick! Pop it in the oven at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until it flakes with a fork and voila! My favorite dish of the day!

17357022_10155989155752907_1385072763_o

The paprika recipe was an experiment that I was trying since I liked it so much on cod. I prepared it the same as the other tilapia recipe, by covering it with fresh lemon juice. Then I added some paprika and let it bake. After trying it, I added some pepper since it just wasn’t tasty enough yet. It’s amazing what a difference a little pepper makes!

17356996_10155993195092907_1541368515_o
Who says you can’t have fun with eggs too? Added some spinach and green food dye to truly celebrate St. Patty’s!

And those are my favorite simple recipes for having all the lean protein without all the boring! Let me know your favorite salt-free recipes too so I can add to my high protein meals!

2 thoughts on “6 Weeks Out: 4 Lean Protein Recipes!

  1. For those green beens, cook them in balsamic vinegar and garlic (if it doesn’t mess with your macros too much). So good!

    My husband I just started with meal prep, and it creates sooo many dishes that first day, I swear I’m still doing dishes by the time the next week starts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

