Bullet Journal

BuJo Beginnings

So you’ve found this blog and are hoping to start your own bullet journal? Well, welcome! As I post more and share more, I hope to help to inspire you to do just that. Here’s the story of how I got started into this crazy addiction:

It was April of 2016. I was working as a bartender so I was up late as usual and I was browsing Pinterest for organization ideas for my desk. Somehow, I came across this picture of a notebook that had beautiful handwriting in it and had a planner layout.

Now, I have always been a sucker for a good planner, but I’ve never been able to keep one for more than a few weeks at a time. I’m also a sticky-note junkie, having to-do lists stuck all around my desk and computer to remind of things that had to get done that day. That’s when I found Ryder Carroll’s video of what exactly these beautiful notebooks were.

They were bullet journals. And I knew that I wanted one.

What is a bullet journal  (or BuJo, for short)?

A bullet journal, in how I use it, is a planner, a tracker, a creative outlet, and a tool for productivity. But the best part about a bullet journal, is that everyone uses them in a different way. I use mine mostly to help tracker my training regimen and school assignments while someone else might use theirs as a sketchbook or a way to track their kid’s growth.

A bullet journal is completely unique to you and your style. It doesn’t have to be beautiful and have perfect doodles. I can’t doodle at all! But I love my handwriting so I added a lot of lettering into my bujo to make it unique to me.

img_0238

What’s so cool about a bullet journal?

What’s cool is that if you don’t like something, you can change it. And if you do like it, you can keep it and make it even better! A bullet journal should be able to help you, not give you more work.

I am still trying to find the best weekly layout for me. Here’s a few progressions of how I changed throughout my first bujo:

12917885_114298532308947_853044647_n

What supplies do you need to start?

Some people spend a lot of money to get the “nice” notebooks and fancy pens, but you can fit a bullet journal into any budget. Here’s all that I get to get started:

  • An empty notebook
  • A writing utensil
  • Washi tape (optional)11363991_1563928730571294_1533891276_n

And that’s it! I had an empty notebook that was ruled and I had bought from Michael’s for $1 laying around so that’s what I grabbed first! Most bujoers, I’ve found, prefer pen over pencil. I like to use pencil to create the layouts and then go over it with pen and a ruler to finalize the layout. My favorite pens are Pilot G2 colored pens and Staedtler triplus fineliner black pens. When I started my first bujo, I try using washi tape from my craft box only to quickly realize that that was not for me.

If you couldn’t tell, my favorite color is pink! ;P

Now what do I do?

Now you make it your own! Don’t be afraid to try something new! It may or may not work, but you won’t know until you try!

Until next time, stay creative and healthy!

Leave a Reply

